Academic Senate


Student Learning


Board Policy

Basic Skills

Flex Day



President's Notes


March 20 2014



We can declare Merry Dennehy and Heather Craig as winners. It was a landslide election


Executive Committee Elections


Elect Academic Senate Officers for the 2014-2015 Academic Year.

Officers consist of President, Vice-President, Secretary, ASCCC Delegate, and Committee on Committees Chair.



Background material for the Accreditation Report:

Accreditation Standards are open for review.

Here is an incomplete draft of potential suggestions.

We will see a resolution about this at the Spring Plenary


In this public comment period, it may be interesting to look at other accrediting institutions' standards; here are three examples:


North Central Association Higher Learning Commission

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities


Accreditation Resolution:

ACCJC is out of compliance with several USDE Criteria for Recognition

The context for this finding can be found within the ASCCC's summary of Accreditation News and Events

ACCJC has said that they only accept comments and critique from member institutions, not professional organizations such as the ASCCC, CTF, CCLC, or others.



College Council



AAAG (met March 19)

Approved administrative ability to insert GEOs on the Curricunet form for GE courses. (Alternative is to ask individual faculty members to do this). What does Academic Senate think?



Board of Trustees