MPC Academic Senate

May 17, 2007


Agenda in printable form




2:30-4:30 pm, Sam Karas Room


I.  Opening Business

A.  Call to order and roll call

Alfred Hochstaedter (President)

Mark Clements (Vice President)

Stephanie Tetter  (Secretary)

Debbie Anthony (COC Chair)

Terria Odom-Wolfer

Jamie Dagdigian

Heather Faust

Alan Haffa

LaRon Johnson

John Mikkelsen

Susan Joplin

Laura Loop

Jonathan Osburg

Marguerite Stark

Laurie Buchholz

Marlene Martin (ASCCC rep and Past-President)

Eleanor Morrice (ASMPC)  


B. Acknowledgement of Visitors

C. Comments from Visitors

D. Approval of DRAFT minutes from the May 3 meeting.


II. Reports

A.  Welcome and Presidentís report (Notes)


B. COC Report (possible ACTION item)

COC Chair Recommendation


C. Flex Committee

Draft Schedule


D. Ed Center Committee


E. ASCCC Report


III. Old Business


A. Academic Senate Goals

Current Draft

Organize activities and personal to accomplish goals and objectives


B. Board Policy on Academic Freedom

Further Discussion

Report explaining the rationale used in formulating the proposed policy on Academic Freedom

Proposed policy on Academic Freedom

Our current Academic Freedom Policy

WASC Handbook


IV. New Business


A. Discussion of a resolution in support of non-credit classes