Academic Senate


Student Learning


Board Policy

Basic Skills

Flex Day




and Minutes


Agendas all on one page F2006-S2010


Agendas all on one page F2010 to present



Sept 5, 2013

2:30-4:15 in the Sam Karas Room

Agenda in printable form


I.  Opening Business

A.  Call to order and roll call

Alfred Hochstaedter (President)

Kathleen Clark (VP)

Catherine Webb  (Secretary)

Mark Clements

Paola Gilbert

Eric Ogata

Lauren Handley

Merry Dennehy

Sue Hanna

Sandra Washington/ Janine Wilson

Robynn Smith

Elias Kary

Brian Brady

Alexis Copeland
Kevin Raskoff/

Andres Durstenfeld

Mike Torres


B. Approval of Draft Minutes from the May 30, 2013 meeting (2:30-2:35)  


II. Reports  


A. President/SLO Committee Report Notes (2:35-2:40)  


B. COC (ACTION item) (2:40-2:50)

Information only (these decisions were made over the summer):

PSTC Director Search Committee:

Tom Logan(?) and Monika Bell

(Dave Brown was recently hired as an interim)


Associate Dean of Human Resources Search Committee:

Tracie Catania, Gary Quinonez, Eric Ogata


Action Item:

Equivalency Committee:

Janine Wilson

Current members include Christine Vincent, Heather Faust, James Lawrence, Kim Fujii, Anita Johnson (leaving)


College Council:

Diane Boynton

Other members include DJ Singh, Elizabeth Mullins, Dan Fox, Lyndon Schutzler, Gary Bolen

and Fred and Mark Clements with Academic Senate and Faculty union seats, respectively


Physiology Hiring Committee

Andres Durstenfeld, Heather Faust, Kevin Raskoff, Laura Loop


Student Success Committee (Academic Senate appoints faculty members)

John Cristobal-Faculty
Merry Dennehy-Faculty
Alethea DeSoto-Faculty
Heather Faust-Faculty
Molly May-Faculty
Laura Franklin-Administration
Larry Walker-Administration
Julie Osborne-Classified
Rosaleen Ryan-Management
Mike Midkiff-Management


Flex Planning Committee

Needs a representative from the Academic Senate (replacing Kelly Fletes)


Academic Senate representative on Curriculum Advisory Committee

No: Sunshine agreed to give monthly reports to the Academic Senate; first will be Oct 3


BSI Co-Chair Desperately needed. Your thoughts?


C. Flex Day Committee Report  (2:50-3:05)


IV Old Business



III. New Business


A. Basic Skills Annual Report (Action if we're ready) (3:05-3:15)

Report from AAAG website


B. Summertime Decisions -- who should make them? (Action Item) (3:15-3:25)

The Academic Senate President +/- the Executive Committee had to make several committee decisions this past summer. Is this what we want? There is no current protocol for this.


C. SLO Assessment Report 2012-2013 Signing Ceremony (3:25-3:35)

2012-2013 SLO Assessment Report

Be ready for cupcakes and celebratory toys.


D. Academic Senate and Presidential Challenge (3:35-3:55)

Walt will join us and speak with us a bit. The four questions:

  1. How should the shared governance process enable campus constituencies to provide input into the budget cuts to achieve financial solvency?

  2. In the past, the Academic Senate has purposefully remained neutral in these decision; should this neutrality continue?

  3. What role should the Academic Senate play as the institution makes these decisions?

  4. How should the Academic Senate be represented at the College Council with respect to these decisions, i.e., how should Fred know how to vote?

E. Goals for the 2013-2014 Academic Year (3:55-4:15)

Possible Draft Goals:

1. Participate in preparations to research and write the next accreditation self-evaluation

2. Research what data might be used to demonstrate the ways that non-instructional programs contribute to FTES generation

3. Continue efforts to increase the collaboration between instructional and student services faculty and educate MPC personnel about curricular changes and requirements.

4. Articulate the meaning of quality Distance Education for the MPC community and its stakeholders.

5. Participate in the evaluation of 2010-2013 institutional goals and the formulation of 2013-201? goals, should the institution decide to pursue this endeavor.

Added Sept 5: Oops, institutional goals are 2011-2014 goals.